Getting Caught Off Guard When It Matters Most

train
Photo by Tejvan Pettinger (CC-BY)

“Blessed are all who are watching for me, who keep their clothing ready…” (Revelation 16:15, NLT)

Not that I need to freak out about it and carry around a sign on the streets declaring the end of the world…but the truth is, Jesus is coming, and honestly, most of the time, I can’t say that I’m watching for him, that I won’t be totally caught off guard by his coming.

Think about a train, coming to take you away on a fantastic trip. Only you don’t know when it’s coming. So in the meantime, you need to go about your daily life. Is it possible that I could get so distracted that I fail to see the train pulling into the station?

Father, show me what it means to watch for Jesus’ coming, to keep my clothing ready. I don’t want to lose sight that this world really is not my home, not my final destination.

Leave a Reply

