A Long Time To Surrender

 

Judges 4_3

Amazing, 20 years of ruthless oppression before the people of Israel cried out to the Lord for help. 20 long years of fear, loss, financial instability, and even death. How could it possibly take 20 years for the Israelites to cry out for help?

Then I realize I do the same. It’s not that I don’t cry out to God in the midst of trouble, in the midst of frustration, in the midst of fear and anguish. I do. Rather, it’s how I cry out to Him.

Too often I find myself demanding God do something. “God, don’t you see I’m hurting? I need help! Please do something. Deliver me!” I cry out to God but I want Him to deliver me, on my terms, according to my plans.

But when the Israelites finally cried out, they cried out in surrender. The words may have been similar, but the heart was surrendered. They were willing to let God lead (through a judge), use whom He wanted, and work in the way He chose.

Father, I so often want to keep control, even when everything is falling around me. Today I surrender to you in every area and every way.

Leave a Reply

